FREE $25 when you Join Now – Use your Free $25 to get a BEST BET at NO cost!



Sports news with a Vegas perspective.

1 Members
  • Type:
  • Created On:
    09/07/2011 10:47 PM
  • Last Update:
    05/17/2022 12:01 PM

2014 Kentucky Derby Start Time and Complete TV Schedule

In just a few hours the most exciting 2 minutes in sports will begin as the 2014 Kentucky Derby is set to take place with a start time of 6:24 pm ET tonight at Churchill Downs in Louisville. The Event will take place on NBC. The complete TV schedule is listed below. We have already had a horse scratched as Hoppertunity will not be competing in the Derby. 

The favorite for the 2014 Kentucky Derby is California Chrome, who has just been on a tear. Also in the mix will be Wicked Strong, Danza and Intense Holiday. Two other horses to look out for are Samraat and Ride On Curlin, who seems to be getting allot of love right now. Even though California Chrome is the overwhelming favorite, this is the Derby and anything can happen. It should be an exciting race..  

Complete Race Day TV Schedule

Derby Preparation: 12 a.m. – 4 p.m. EST, NBC Sports Network

The Kentucky Derby Coverage: 4 p.m. EST, NBC

Derby Post Coverage: 7 p.m. NBC Sports Network 

1.  Vicar's In Trouble        (22/1)
2.  Harry's Holiday            (40/1)
3.  Uncle Sigh                    (28/1)
4.  Danza                            (10/1)
5.  California Chrome       (2/1)
6.  Samraat                        (14/1)
7.  We Miss Artie               (22/1)
8.  General A Rod             (28/1)
9.  Vinceremos                   (53/1)
10. Wildcat Red                 (16/1)
11.  Hoppertunity               Scratched from race
12.  Dance With Fate        (14/1)
13.  Chitu                            (26/1)
14.  Medal Count               (24/1) 
15.  Tapiture                       (38/1)
16.  Intense Holiday          (15/1)
17.  Commanding Curve   (31/1)
18.  Candy Boy                   (15/1)
19.  Ride On Curlin            (16/1)
20.  Wicked Strong            (8/1)

Kentucky Derby Facts (Taken From Brandon Watson)

— The biggest "longshot" was in 1913 when  Donerail paid out at 91.45-1 odds.
— The highest attendance ever was in 1974 with 163,628 people (2009 was 153,563).
— An "official" Mint Julip at the Kentucky Derby is made with "Early Times" whiskey.
— New York sports columnist Bill Corum coined the phrase "Run for the Roses."

Kentucky Derby Records (Taken From Brandon Watson)

Winning Jockey: Both Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack have recorded five wins each. For Arcaro you need to travel back to 1938 (final win was in 1952) for his first of five wins and for Hartack back to 1957 (final win was in 1969).

Winning Trainer: Ben A Jones worked together with jockey Eddie Arcaro spanning from 1938 to 1952 and collected a total of six wins at the Kentucky Derby.

Winning Owner: Over a course of 27 years, Calumet Farm had a total of eight Derby wins (1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952, 1957, 1958).

Winning Length: There is a tie between two horses from the 1940s, Whirlaway and Assault. Both captured the Kentucky Derby with a margin of eight lengths (1941 for Whirlaway and 1946 for Assault).

Winning Time: Probably one of the most famous horses in history, Secretariat, is the holder of this record. In 1973 he ran the Derby in 1:59:40 and is the only horse to ever run the 11/4 mile race in under two minutes.

-$25 of picks FREE! No Obligation - No Credit Card Required - Becoming a member is Fast and Free!

$10,000 Match Marco Baseball Challenge--- During the 2010 MLB season, Pregame Pro Marco D'Angelo won an unheard of 25 straight baseball games, never laying more than -$120! This contest replicates Marco's feat--- CLICK TO JOIN

Stay on top of the latest odds and line moves for NBA Playoffs with our real-time odds from Las Vegas and offshore!

MovieMarcos Kentucky Derby Wrap Up
Marco D'Angelo, from gives his final thoughts on what to look for in the Kentucky derby, which takes plays on Saturday (5/03/14).