FREE $25 when you Join Now – Use your Free $25 to get a BEST BET at NO cost!



Sports news with a Vegas perspective.

1 Members
  • Type:
  • Created On:
    09/07/2011 10:47 PM
  • Last Update:
    09/18/2021 9:46 PM

Triple Crown Winners and Odds: I'll Have Another

Will I'll Have Another win the Triple Crown at the 2012 Belmont Stakes? Projected odds have him as the Belmont favorite at 4-5 followed by Dullahan at 5-1 and Union Rags at 6-1. Prior to the Kentucky Derby a $100 wager would have paid back $700.00 in the event someone captured the Triple Crown in 2012, with the odds of that horse being I'll Have Another listed at 70-1 ($7000.00 for every $100.00 wagered). Going into the Belmont, the same $100 prop wager on I'll Have Another to win the Triple Crown will pay back $150.00 instead of the $7000.00 prior to the Derby. The potential Triple Crown was set up when I'll Have Another edged out Bodemeister to win the Kentucky Derby, paying his backers $32.60 for every $2.00 bet followed by another 1-2 finish with Bodemeister at the Preakness (paying $8.40 on the win). 

Going back to 1919 there has only been eleven horses who have managed to win the Kentucky DerbyPreakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes over a five week period and twenty one horses that have captured the first two legs of the Triple Crown only to come up short at the Belmont Stakes. In recent memory, the last Triple Crown hopeful was Big Brown who went into the Belmont as a huge favorite (3-10) and ended up not only losing to Da' Tara, but became the first potential Triple Crown winner to finish dead last at the Belmont. 

Won First Two Legs of Triple Crown: 1979 Spectacular Bud... 1981 Pleasant Colony... 1987 Alysheba... 1989 Sunday Silence... 1997 Silver Charm... 1998 Real Quiet... 1999 Charismatic... 2002 War Emblem... 2003 Funny Code... 2004 Smarty Jones... 2008 Big Brown.   

11 Triple Crown Winners: 1991 Sir Barton... 1930 Gallant Fox... 1935 Omaha... 1937 War Admiral... 1941 Whirlaway... 1943 Count fleet... 1946 Assault... 1948 Citation... 1973 Secretariat... 1977 Seattle Slew... 1978 Affirmed. 

Triple Crown Winners (Complete List w/ jockey, trainer and owner)

Year  Name Jockey Trainer Owner
1919  Sir Barton John Loftus H. G. Bedwell J. K. L. Ross
1930   Gallant Fox Earl Sande James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1935  Omaha William Saunders James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1937  War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1941  Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1943  Count Fleet John Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J. D. Hertz
1946  Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1948  Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1973  Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1977  Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1978  Affirmed Steve Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera Harbor View Farm

 Movie One of Marcos Horse Stories...:Host Marco D'Angelo talks about a story he experienced a few years ago with Pregame's own Johnny Detroit.