FREE $25 when you Join Now – Use your Free $25 to get a BEST BET at NO cost!



Sports news with a Vegas perspective.

1 Members
  • Type:
  • Created On:
    09/07/2011 10:47 PM
  • Last Update:
    Yesterday - 9:23 AM

Triple Crown: American Pharoah and List of Past Winners

After winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness StakesAmerican Pharoah is favored by oddsmakers to win the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes. Dating back to 1919 there are only eleven horses in history who have managed to win the Kentucky DerbyPreakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes over a five week period. Historically there have been twenty one horses that have captured the first two legs of the Triple Crown only to fall victim to the Belmont Stakes. The last horse to come close was Big Brown who went into the Belmont as a huge favorite (3-10) and ended up not only losing to Da' Tara, but becoming the first potential Triple Crown winner to finish dead last at the Belmont. 

Triple Crown Track Details

Kentucky Derby: 1 1/4 miles (2.01 km) on a dirt track

Preakness Stakes: 1 3/16 miles (1.91 km) on a dirt track

Belmont Stakes: 1 1/2 miles (2.41 km) on a dirt track (longest of any U.S. thoroughbred racing track)

Looking at the Triple Crown outside of just the horses, there have been ten trainers that have captured the Triple Crown with Jim Fitzsimmons winning twice with Omaha and Gallant Fox. On the jockey side, only Eddie Arcaro has managed to ride two horses to victory at the Triple Crown (Whirlaway in 1941 & Citation in 1948). In recent memory, the only thing close would be Calvin Borel riding  Mine That Bird to win the Derby and Rachel Alexandra to win the Preakness (showed in Belmont with Mine That Bird) in the same year.

Triple Crown Winners (Complete List)
Year  Name Jockey Trainer Owner
1919  Sir Barton John Loftus H. G. Bedwell J. K. L. Ross
1930   Gallant Fox Earl Sande James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1935  Omaha William Saunders James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1937  War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1941  Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1943  Count Fleet John Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J. D. Hertz
1946  Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1948  Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1973  Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1977  Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1978  Affirmed Steve Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera Harbor View Farm

$25 of picks FREE! No Obligation - No Credit Card Required - Becoming a member is Fast and Free!

  • Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Email Share Sent

Your share has been sent.


Quick View


Future Game






Bet Type:



Contests: ,

Full Pick Details


Multi Quick View


Pick Name
Odds: Odds
Picked: Stamp


Quick View







x Join Contest