FREE $25 when you Join Now –Use your Free $25 to get a FREE Pick!



Sports news with a Vegas perspective.

1 Members
  • Type:
  • Created On:
    09/07/2011 10:47 PM
  • Last Update:
    Yesterday - 2:02 PM

143rd Kentucky Derby Start Time, Odds

Kentucky Derby 2012 Draw: Post Positions, Field and Race Preview

The 2017 Kentucky Derby, the "Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports," takes place later today. The 2017 Kentucky Derby Start Time is set for 6:34pm EST tonight from Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The 2017 Kentucky Derby Odds are listed below in their entirety, with post positions for each horse with Always Dreaming favored to win the race.

The race will be televised nationally on NBC.

Below is the complete 143rd Kentucky Derby Updated Odds (Odds via, updated at 11:00 a.m. Saturday.)

1. Lookin at Lee (27-1)
2. Thunder Snow (18-1)
3. Fast And Accurate (38-1)
4. Untrapped (63-1)
5. Always Dreaming (4-1)
6. State of Honor (55-1)
7. Girvin (21-1)
8. Hence (15-1)
9. Irap (39-1)
10. Gunnevera (9-1)
11. Battle of Midway (37-1)
12. Sonneteer (35-1)
13. J Boys Echo (44-1)
14. Classic Empire (7-1)
15. McCracken (7-1)
16. Tapwrit (27-1)
17. Irish War Cry (5-1)
18. Gormley (21-1)
19. Practical Joke (30-1)
20. Patch (13-1)

Kentucky Derby Facts

— The biggest "longshot" was in 1913 when  Donerail paid out at 91.45-1 odds.
— The highest attendance ever was in 2015 with 170,513 people. Last year there was 167,227 people.
— An "official" Mint Julip at the Kentucky Derby is made with "Early Times" whiskey.
— New York sports columnist Bill Corum coined the phrase "Run for the Roses."

Kentucky Derby Records

Winning Jockey: Both Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack have recorded five wins each. For Arcaro you need to travel back to 1938 (final win was in 1952) for his first of five wins and for Hartack back to 1957 (final win was in 1969).

Winning Trainer: Ben A Jones worked together with jockey Eddie Arcaro spanning from 1938 to 1952 and collected a total of six wins at the Kentucky Derby.

Winning Owner: Over a course of 27 years, Calumet Farm had a total of eight Derby wins (1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952, 1957, 1958).

Winning Length: There is a tie between two horses from the 1940s, Whirlaway and Assault. Both captured the Kentucky Derby with a margin of eight lengths (1941 for Whirlaway and 1946 for Assault).

Winning Time: Probably one of the most famous horses in history, Secretariat, is the holder of this record. In 1973 he ran the Derby in 1:59:40 and is the only horse to ever run the 11/4 mile race in under two minutes.

$25 of picks FREE! No Obligation - No Credit Card Required - Becoming a member is Fast and Free!

Stay on top of the latest odds and line moves for NBA Playoffs with our real-time odds from Las Vegas and offshore!

  • Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Email Share Sent

Your share has been sent.


Quick View


Future Game






Bet Type:



Contests: ,

Full Pick Details


Multi Quick View


Pick Name
Odds: Odds
Picked: Stamp


Quick View







x Join Contest