FREE $25 when you Join Now – Use your Free $25 to get a BEST BET at NO cost!



Sports news with a Vegas perspective.

1 Members
  • Type:
  • Created On:
    09/07/2011 10:47 PM
  • Last Update:
    09/18/2021 9:46 PM

142nd Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Morning Line Odds

The 2016 Kentucky Derby Post Positions were released today from Churchill Downs for Saturday's "Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports." The Kentucky Derby will begin at 6:34pm EST this Saturday from Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

"The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports" is held annually at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday in May for three-year-old thoroughbred horses. The Derby is the first leg of the Triple Crown and is almost always the most attended horse race in North America. Three years ago, I'll Have Another became the first horse ever to win the Kentucky Derby while opening on the 19th post. Now the only post never to have a winner is No. 17. Post No. 5 has the most winners of all time with 13 with California Chrome winning two years ago from the fifth position. Post No. 1 has the second most Kentucky Derby winners of all time with 12 while No. 4 has seen 11 winners.

Below is the complete 2016 142nd Kentucky Derby Post Positions. (Morning Line Odds in parentheses and courtesy of

1. Trojan Nation (50-1)
2. Suddenbreakingnews (20-1)
3. Creator (10-1)
4. Mo Tom (20-1)
5. Gun Runner (10-1)
6. My Man Sam (20-1)
7. Oscar Nominated (50-1)
8. Lani (30-1)
9. Destin (15-1)
10. Whitmore (20-1)
11. Exaggerator (8-1)
12. Tom's Ready (30-1)
13. Nyquist (3-1)
14. Mohaymen (10-1)
15. Outwork (15-1)
16. Shagaf (20-1)
17. Mor Spirit (12-1)
18. Majesto (30-1)
19. Brody's Cause (12-1)
20. Danzig Candy (15-1)

Kentucky Derby Facts

— The biggest "longshot" was in 1913 when  Donerail paid out at 91.45-1 odds.
— The highest attendance ever was in 1974 with 163,628 people (2009 was 153,563).
— An "official" Mint Julip at the Kentucky Derby is made with "Early Times" whiskey.
— New York sports columnist Bill Corum coined the phrase "Run for the Roses."

Kentucky Derby Records

Winning Jockey: Both Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack have recorded five wins each. For Arcaro you need to travel back to 1938 (final win was in 1952) for his first of five wins and for Hartack back to 1957 (final win was in 1969).

Winning Trainer: Ben A Jones worked together with jockey Eddie Arcaro spanning from 1938 to 1952 and collected a total of six wins at the Kentucky Derby.

Winning Owner: Over a course of 27 years, Calumet Farm had a total of eight Derby wins (1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952, 1957, 1958).

Winning Length: There is a tie between two horses from the 1940s, Whirlaway and Assault. Both captured the Kentucky Derby with a margin of eight lengths (1941 for Whirlaway and 1946 for Assault).

Winning Time: Probably one of the most famous horses in history, Secretariat, is the holder of this record. In 1973 he ran the Derby in 1:59:40 and is the only horse to ever run the 11/4 mile race in under two minutes.

$25 of picks FREE! No Obligation - No Credit Card Required - Becoming a member is Fast and Free!

Stay on top of the latest odds and line moves for NBA Playoffs with our real-time odds from Las Vegas and offshore!

  • Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Journalist living in West Michigan. Inaugural "Who's The Man" contest winner at

Email Share Sent

Your share has been sent.


Quick View


Future Game






Bet Type:



Contests: ,

Full Pick Details


Multi Quick View


Pick Name
Odds: Odds
Picked: Stamp


Quick View







x Join Contest